President Akufo Addo has charged the Governing Board of the newly created State Interest and Governance Authority (SIGA) to, ensure the building of a new culture of accountable governance in state-owned enterprises, all institutions that would be working under their supervision as well as all other institutions that the state has interest in.

Addressing a nine-member board at the Jubilee House after a ceremony to swear them into office, President Akufo Addo said the history of the management of state-owned enterprises has been a difficult one that did not work in the interest of the people of Ghana and that that ought to change.

He noted “There is a general agreement that those institutions did not work well in the interest of our people and our country and that is the reason why this new authority has been brought into being. So the attitude must be ‘new king, new law.’ A new Authority means a new culture, a culture of accountable governance, and of respecting the norms, responsibilities and practices of good corporate governance not only amongst yourselves but amongst the institutions that report to you”.

According to the President State enterprises and state related economic institutions, form a very important part of the country’s overall business and economic architecture and it was time they played a productive role in the development of the economy.

A member of the Governing Board, Felix Intrakwah responding on behalf of the Chairman (Mr. Terry Darko) who is currently out of the jurisdiction and on behalf of his colleagues, said for the President to repeat the old saying ‘new king, new law,’ it conveyed a lot of information and food for thought. He said “We accept the challenge, we will not disgrace ourselves, we will make the change happen,”


The Governing Board has Mr. Terry Darko, as its Chairman; Mr. Stephen Asamoah Boateng, the Director General of the State Interest and Governance Authority (SIGA); Lawyer Kow Essuman, representative from the Office of the President; Mr. David Collison, representative nominated by the Ministry of Finance; Mr. Franklin Owusu Asafo Adjei, representative nominated by the Institute of Chartered Accountants, Ghana, and Mr. Felix Intrakwah, representative nominated by the Ghana Bar Association, are members of the board. The rest are Mr. Elikem Kunyehia, Miss Yasmin Baba, and Dr. Margaret Duah Atuahene, all of which are nominees of the President.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here